Blink

by reasoninthedark

„Close your eyes for a moment when you‘re tired and you‘re gone. Sometimes you‘re transported to another world and sometimes that time is just … gone. You dreamt something and don‘t remember it or maybe you dreamt nothing at all. Blink. Hours of your life missing.

 

What if you lived your life like that?

 

Blink, convenience store, blink, home, blink …. You would remember nothing of the time in between. For all you know you were a different person. Controlled, or a different personality took over. The times you woke up would be the nightmare, but you‘d only have time to be scared.

 

That was my life for seven years.

 

I still don‘t remember any of it. People tell me what I did, that I acted no different, except for the freakouts. Imagine that. The time I was awake was the time I acted abnormal. That‘s what they noticed. I‘m okay now. Sort of. No more blackouts. My doctor told me to keep this journal, that it would help make sense of what‘s real, and what‘s not. I don‘t see the point, since I‘m cured. But doctor Anniston has hel-“

 

He returned to consciousness just as his finger pressed down on a key. His heart pumped faster as he read what he just wrote. How dare it? How dare it take over his life? He had the urge to scream.